Yes. Your library stays on this device until you decide to sync it.
When you continue without an account, your records stay on your device. You can organize your library and track your reading. Clubs, readers, and other shared features require an account.
When you are ready to sync, open Settings and choose Sign in to sync. Your local data will be uploaded to your account and kept in sync across devices signed in to that account.